Beginning July 1, Tennessee drivers will be subject to a new law that bans cellphone use while driving, imposing up to a $200 fine.
Drivers 18 and older (younger drivers are already prohibited) will be prohibited from holding or physically supporting a phone while driving. Devices such as earpieces, headphones, wristlets and dashboard mounts will be allowed.
$50 fine for the first offense;
$100 for the third offense or if a wreck results;
$200 if offense occurs in work zone with workers present or school zone with warning flashers.
The bill excludes law enforcement, first responders, utility workers and others making emergency calls.
Tennessee is the 19th state to ban cellphone use while driving.
Everyone here at Advocate Capital, Inc. appreciates important legislation like this that makes life safer for all.
Senior Vice President